An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home : News : Articles : Article View
NEWS | Aug. 3, 2023

AMCOM hosts annual memorial ceremony

By Richelle Brown

The Aviation and Missile Command held its annual memorial ceremony Aug. 1, honoring 28 members of the AMCOM team who passed during the recent year.

AMCOM Commander Maj. Gen. Tom O’Connor hosted the ceremony, which took place in the Bob Jones Auditorium in the John J. Sparkman Center on Redstone Arsenal, Alabama. The ceremony included representatives from AMCOM headquarters, Corpus Christi Army Depot, Letterkenny Army Depot and the U.S. Army Test, Measurement, and Diagnostic Equipment Activity.

O’Connor thanked family members, co-workers, and friends for sharing their loved ones with their respective units, AMCOM and the U.S. Army, and acknowledged that AMCOM is a better place for having known and served alongside them.

“Today, we reflect on their commitment to our nation and their selfless service to a cause greater than themselves,” O’Connor said. “We reflect on the incredible impact they’ve had on each and every one of us; we reflect on their candor, character, and the laughter they shared with us, and most importantly, we reflect upon the legacy they left with us.”

During the ceremony, friends and co-workers shared memories and spoke about the significant impact each honored employee had upon AMCOM and the Army enterprise, sometimes mixing tears with laughter in bittersweet displays of remembrance.

Photos of the employees honored during the ceremony will be added to the "AMCOM Remembers" display outside the Bob Jones Auditorium.

Photos from the event can be seen on the AMCOM Flickr page,

Employees who were honored include:

Corpus Christ Army Depot:

  • Jose A. Alvarado
  • Antonio De La Garza
  • Renaldo Longoria Jr.
  • Eduardo Mendiola
  • Dina Reyna
  • Richard M. Sandoval
  • Rich A. Trevino

Letterkenny Army Depot:

  • John Staley
  • Duffy Carbaugh
  • Daryl Rhine
  • Harry T. O’Donnel, Jr.
  • Robert D. Mackey
  • Rodney A. Cline
  • Kelly Kanatus
  • Toby L. Coy
  • Dwight McDonald

AMCOM Headquarters:

  • Rachel J. Beard
  • Roy Carroll
  • Sandra A. Dargin
  • Nathaniel Gordon
  • Adam Lessman
  • Christopher McKinnie
  • Debra A. Saulsbury
  • Dene Schwarz

U.S. Army Test, Measurement, and Diagnostic Equipment Activity:

  • Stephen D. Erwin
  • John A. Mitchell
  • Sheri M. Williams
  • John P. Tayoun